Understanding SnapChat Privacy

If you have ever used SnapChat you might of wondered how the privacy settings work, so I’ve done quite a bit of work testing SnapChat Privacy settings and how they all work.

I used to think that by changing your account from “Everyone” to “Friends Only” would also change the privacy level of current snaps on your story. However that is in fact NOT the case.

The Privacy setting on your SnapChat only conforms to when you posted said snap to your story. For example if you posted photo A  to your story when it was set to “Everyone” and later you changed it to “Friends Only”, photo A can still be seen by “Everyone” and it’s privacy setting didn’t change.

Here are the general permissions that SnapChat allows

mythemeshop sml

“Everyone” permission

  • If you have your privacy set to Everyone they will see all your story snaps without you having to add them back as a friend.

“Friends Only” permission

  • If you have your privacy set to Friends Only they will only see your story if you added them as a friend.

“Custom” Permission

  • If you have your privacy set to Custom they will only see your story if u haven’t blocked them otherwise.

Below are different scenarios that I tested and have results for each one as well.

New Friends (previously not your friend)

  • If you have your privacy set to Everyone they will see all your story snaps.
  • If you have your privacy set to Friends Only they will see all your story snaps.
  • If your privacy was set to Custom they won’t see any of your story snaps except new ones u add after they become your friend unless you block them.

Removing a friend

So you just removed a friend from your SnapChat & now you believe they can’t see your snaps anymore? Well u might be wrong!

Removing a friend from your list doesn’t remove yourself from their list so:

  • If you have your privacy set to Everyone they will see all your story snaps.
  • If you have your privacy set to Friends Only they shouldn’t be able to see your story snaps anymore.
  • If you have your privacy set to Custom they shouldn’t be able to see your story snaps anymore.

I hope this was helpful and please comment if you have questions, or hit me up on Twitter or SnapChat: t3dus

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: